SHAW, Cathi

Author Tags: Advice, Fiction

March is Epilepsy Awareness month in Canada--so it was an ideal time in 2014 to release Cathi Shaw's first novel, Five Corners (Ink Smith $16.97), Book One in her projected series called The Marked Ones. It's the story of three sisters with different gifts--one of whom, Thia, suffers from epilepsy but her seizures result in visions that help guide them out of danger. The sisters have grown up in a sleepy village untouched by distant wars and political conflicts, until a dead child is found; a child that bears the same strange birthmark that all three sisters possess. The girls are soon forced to flee from their home and unravel the mysteries of their origins.

In December of the same year Shaw released Book Two, The Refuge (Ink Smith 2014) in which Thia, Kiara and Mina agree to meet in a newly created safe haven called The Refuge. As a precaution they take different paths to their destination, only to find that those paths force them even farther away from one another. They are once again left to wonder if there is anyone they can trust.

Journey to the Rift (Ink Smith Publishing 2016) is the first volume of a prequel to Cathi Shaw's young adult fantasy series, The Marked Ones. For years her heroine Brijit Carnesîr was looking forward to her life as a member of the Coimirceoirí, upon her graduation from The Academy, and possibly going to Séreméla to work with the Elders, but instead, as the Academy Apprentice of her year, she is paired with a grumpy male apprentice from Stone Mountain, Weylon Forborrow. Instead of being taken to Séreméla, she and Weylon are sent to The Rift, "a dead land tainted with evil." She is given the task of helping the Princess in birthing the long-awaited Queen of the Elders. There is talk of an old and forgotten Prophecy, Weylon is attacked by a creature from the Rift and her grandmother is killed, after revealing a secret that rocks everything Brijit knows about her past. Brijit faith in her belief system is severely shaken. Meanwhile the future of Séreméla and all of Five Corners is in jeopardy.

Cathi Shaw has also co-authored Surviving Logan (Rocky Mountain Books 2016), the survival story of North Vancouver firefighter and veteran climber Erik Bjarnason's rescue after he and two others were stuck in a frozen wasteland atop Mount Logan, the second-highest peak in North America, during an extratropical cyclone in 2005. Hypothermia, severe frostbite, and three feet of new snow prevented a retreat from the mountain. Through the combined efforts of North Shore Rescue, Alaskan Air Guard, Denali National Park staff and the Canadian Park Service, the three experienced climbers were eventually airlifted off the mountain by a Lama high-altitude aircraft. After losing all of his fingers, and one thumb, it didn't seem feasible that Bjarnason could continue his career as a firefighter and mountaineer, but he re-trained and re-qualified as a firefighter. Just thirteen months after his rescue from Mount Logan, he climbed to the summit of Europe’s highest peak, Mount Elbrus, in Russia.

Born on January 3, 1969 in North Vancouver, Cathi Shaw of Summerland teaches rhetoric and professional writing in the Department of Communications at Okanagan College and is the co-author of the textbook Writing Today.


Writing Today. Pearson Canada, 2013. Co-author

Five Corners: Book 1 of the Marked Ones, Ink Smith Publishing, 2014 1939156246

The Refuge Book 2 of the Marked Ones, (Ink Smith 2014)

Surviving Logan (Rocky Mountain Books 2016) $28.00, 9781771601924. Co-author.

Journey to the Rift (Ink Smith Publishing 2016)

[BCBW 2016]