Not listed in Literary History of Alberta


In the Niger Country (1897)
The Mistress of Bonaventure (1905)
Alton of Somasco (1905)
The Cattle-Baron's Daughter (1906)
Winston of the Prairie (1907)
Delilah of the Snows (1907)
For Jacinta (1908)
Liberationist (1908)
Long Odds (1908)
Beneath Her Station (1909)
Lorimer of the Northwest (1909)
Allinson's Adventure (1910)
Masters of the Wheat-Lands (1910)
Thurston of Orchard Valley (1910)
Vane of the Timberlands (1911)
The Long Portage (1912)
aka The Pioneer
Ranching for Sylvia (1913)
For the Allinson Honor (1913)
Prescott of Saskatchewan (1913)
aka The Wastrel
The Intriguers (1914)
The Buccaneer Farmer (1914)
The League of the Leopard (1914)
Harding of Allenwood (1915)
His One Talent (1916)
aka Brandon of the Engineers
Johnstone of the Border (1916)
Dust of Conflict (1917)
Carmen's Messenger (1917)
The Girl from Keller's (1917)
A Risky Game (1917)
The Lure of the North (1918)
Partners of the Out-Trail (1919)
Wyndham's Pal (1919)
The Wilderness Mine (1920)
Lister's Great Adventure (1921)
Kit Musgrave's Luck (1921)
The Man from the Wilds (1922)
Northwest! (1922)
aka The Mountaineers / Pine Creek Ranch
The Bush-Rancher (1923)
The Wilderness Patrol (1923)
Green Timber (1924)
Cross Trails (1925)
The Gold Trail (1925)
Prairie Gold (1925)
aka The Broken Net
The Broken Trail (1926)
aka Sour Grapes
The Dark Road (1927)
The Ghost of Hemlock Canyon (1927)
The Firm Hand (1928)
aka The Lone Hand
Mystery Reef (1928)
aka Halford's Adventure
The Frontiersman (1929)
The Harder Way (1929)
Larry of Lonesome Lake, (1929)
The Man At Willow Ranch (1930)
aka Harden's Escape
Rancher Jim (1930)
The Border Trail (1931)
aka Carter's Triumph
The Prairie Patrol (1931)
aka The Lean Years
Jungle Gold (New York: Frederick A. Stokes, 1932). British title: The Concession Hunters

Fenwick's Trail (1933)
Valley Gold (1934)
Sweetwater Ranch (1935)
The Forbidden River (1936)


Ainslie's Ju-Ju: A Hinterland Romance (London: Chatto & Windus, 1900; 1903). Ostensibly set in South Africa. The ju-ju is a magical native talisman carved in ivory as a serpent's head.


Thrice Armed (London: John Long Ltd.; New York: Frederick A. Stokes, 1908)

Born in Liverpool in 1866, Harold Edward Bindloss was an English novelist who spent some years in Western Canada, as well as Africa, in his youth, before returning to London in 1896 and entering journalism. His first book was non-fiction, In the Niger Country (1898), but then Bindloss proceeded to churn forth over sixty novels, with another three being published posthumously. His novels that pertain to Vancouver include Alton of Somasco, A Damaged Reputation, Delilah of the Snows, and A Sower of Wheat. Many of his novels relate to the period of settlement on the prairies. (Peel). Sunshine and snow concerns two English brothers, one just out of an English public school, who seek their fortunes as prairie farmers. There are many dramatic moments in this short novel, including prairie rustlers and an avalanche on a railroad in British Columbia. The farmer's dependence on the weather is briefly but cogently described. Bindloss died on December 30, 1945 in Carlisle, England. An obituary article was printed in the New York Times on January 2, 1946. Bindloss, Alberta bears his name.