The Lieutenant Governor's Medal for Historical Writing is the most time-honoured award for history books about British Columbia.


1983 Daphne Sleigh: Discovering Deroche: From Nicomen to Lake Errock

1984 Barry M. Gough: Gunboat Frontier British Maritime Authority and Northwest Coast Indians. 1846-1890

1985 John Norris: Old Silverton 1891-1930

1986 Charles Lillard: Seven Shillings a Year: The History of Vancouver Island
1987 Lynn Bower: Three Dollar Dreams

1988 Peter B. Waite: Lord of Point Grey: Larry MacKenzie of UBC and Bridget Moran: Stoney Creek Woman: Sai'k'uz Ts'eke: The Story of Mary John

1989 John Hayman: Robert Brown and the Vancouver Island Exploring Expedition

1990 Paul Tennant: Aboriginal People and Politics: The Indian Land Question in British Columbia, 1849-1989

1991 Geoff Meggs: Salmon: The Decline of the West Coast Fishery

1992 James R. Gibson: Otter Skins, Boston Ships and China Goods

1993 Allison Mitcham: Taku: The Heart of North America's Last Great Wilderness

1994 Tom Henry: The Good Company: An Affectionate History of the Union Steamships

1995 Christine Frances Dickinson & Diane Solie Smith: Atlin: The Story of British Columbia's Last Gold Rush

1996 Richard J. Cannings and Sydney G. Cannings: British Columbia: A Natural History

1997 Richard Somerset Mackie: Trading Beyond the Mountains: The British Fur Trade on the Pacific 1793-1843

1998 Kathryn Bridge: By Snowshoe, Buckboard and Steamer: Women of the Frontier

1999 Lilia D'Acres and Donald Luxton: Lions Gate

2000 Richard Somerset Mackie: Island Timber: A Social History of the Comox Logging Company. Sono Nis Press.

2001 Milton Parent: Circle of Silver. Centennial Series. Arrow Lakes Historical Society.

2002 Francis Mansbridge: Launching History: The Saga of Burrard Dry Dock. Harbour Publishing.

2003 Lieutenant Governor's Medal (including a cash prize of $300):
Dr. Jean Barman: Sojourning Sisters: The Lives and Letters of Jessie and Annie McQueen. University of Toronto Press. 2nd Prize (including a cash prize of $200) Joan Lang for Lost Orchards: Vanishing Fruit Farms of the West Kootenay. Ward Creek Press. 3rd Prize (including a cash prize of $100): Marie and Richard Weeden (Eds.) for Edenbank: The History of a Canadian Pioneer Farm, by the late Oliver N. Wells. Harbour Publishing. Honourable Mentions: Chief Earl Maquinna George for Living on the Edge: Nuu-Chah-Nulth History from an Ahousat Chief's Perspective. Sono Nis Press. John R. Hinde for When Coal was King: Ladysmith and the Coal-Mining Industry on Vancouver Island. UBC Press. Special Recognition: Howard White of Harbour Publishing was honoured for having published 19 issues of the Raincoast Chronicles. The prizes were awarded at the annual conference of the British Columbia Historical Federation May 8, 2004, in Nanaimo, B.C.

This Lieutenant Governor's Medal for historical writing is managed by the British Columbia Historical Federation. It was organized on October 31, 1922 as "The British Columbia Historical Association" and registered under the Societies Act, March 2, 1927. The change of name to British Columbia Historical Federation occurred July 29, 1983. The Federation acts as an umbrella organization for provincial historical societies, and is a non-profit organization recognized as a charitable society under the Income Tax Act. The society publishes an excellent quarterly journal, British Columbia Historical News, and provides a forum to publicize successes of regional historical societies. The members of the society hold an annual three-day conferenc, usually in May, at different locations in the province. Honours are presented at the conference to members who have made outstanding contributions to history and the Lieutenant Governor's Medal is awarded, along with recognition for runners-up and honourary mentions. The BCHF and David Mattison also jointly sponsor a yearly award to a Web site that best contributes to the understanding and appreciation of British Columbia's past.